Books for the New Year

I wrote some resolutions last year, most of them too general to be any good, which you can read about here.  This year, instead of coming up with things I’ll never actually do, I thought I would make up a list of books that I am going to read in the coming year.  (And if you’re thinking I stole this idea from the Internet Monk, you’re right.)

  • The New Testament and the People of God by N.T. Wright.  I’ve read a number of Wright’s books, as well as listened to a lot of lectures, but I haven’t read his most important works.  I’m going to start digging in soon.
  • Free of Charge: Giving and Forgiving in a Culture Stripped of Grace by Miroslav Volf.  I actually was supposed to get this from Book Mooch, but the guy never sent it.  Volf might be considered a liberal theologian at an apostate institution, but his work is great and from what I’ve read of this book, it will be well worth it.
  • J.R.R. Tolkien’s Sanctifying Myth: Understanding Middle-Earth by Bradley Birzer.  I heard about this book while listening to lectures by Joseph Pearce.  I will gladly read any book about Tolkien or Middle-Earth, but especially if it’s by a guy who teaches at Hillsdale.
  • The Sandman by Neil Gaiman.  Okay, this has nothing to do with Christianity, but they’re still great.  I probably won’t buy the collected trades, but I’m definitely going to read them.
  • Through New Eyes by James Jordan.  A few years old, but the ideas are something I need to learn more about.
  • Mother Kirk: Essays and Foray into Practical Ecclesiology by Douglas Wilson.
  • The Federal Vision by Steve Wilkins.  I think it might be time I try to figure this thing out, or at least get a small grasp of the issue.
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling.  Assuming, of course, it will come out this year.
Leave a Reply

