Hacking Life Zero: Vitae Simplex

Since I’m hacking Life Zero, adding a few things and taking others away, I thought it only fair to rename my project so as to avoid any confusion. So, my simple life methodology will be known as Vitae Simplex (I know, genius). Lest there be a misunderstanding, Life Zero provided the inspiration for this, but I am not not just trying to rip it off.

So, as an introduction to my new lifestyle that sounds eerily like a disease (or some kind of health drink), here are the remixed rules. Future posts will elaborate on them.

  1. Keep what you need and nothing more.
  2. 6 months review cycle.
  3. Out with the old, in with the new.
  4. Zero debt.
  5. Time is valuable.
  6. It is more blessed to give than to receive.
  7. Take time for family and community.
  8. The spiritual is important.
4 thoughts on “Hacking Life Zero: Vitae Simplex

  1. Mike,

    Interesting spiritual take on Life Zero. While I’m not Christian, I do find myself drawn to your terse, but effective “remixed rules” of Life Zero.

    Perhaps we could talk you into being on the Podcast sometime?

    Very, very interesting perspective.

  2. John, thanks for stopping by and commenting. I’m glad you find my perspective interesting, your stuff has been influential to me.

    I’ll have to think about the podcast thing, that’s kind of daunting.

  3. Why do you need a Christian version of Life Zero? Just wondering what was wrong with the origional. (I am also Christian and didn’t see any issues with it.)

    Just Curious

    Ted

  4. Ted, I definitely do not want a “Christian version” of Life Zero. That was not my intention and I would hate if that’s the impression I gave. I too think Life Zero is good, but what I wanted to do is hack/tweak it to fit my particular needs.

    I want what I do to reflect my Christianity, but not create a Christian alternative. This is why I took out Practice Life Meditation and replaced it with a few other “rules” that better speak to where I am in life. The original rules (and the rules redux) are good, but I needed something more specific to me. Remember, this is how I am attempting to live my life, so I needed it to suit me.

    I’ve edited the original post to reflect your comment.

Leave a Reply

